• If you are having problems logging in please use the Contact Us in the lower right hand corner of the forum page for assistance.

How do I get into your shoes(boots)?

Help Support Ranchers.net:

james.dyer

Reaction score
I am a young man that separated from the U.S. Navy several years ago. Since then I have spent my time caring for the sick and injured as a 911 paramedic in Houston, Texas. My dream since childhood has always been to be a rancher. Unfortunately, I have next to zero reference and guidance on how to get there. I work as a "hand" on my uncle's ranch from time to time. I first started as a very young boy, doing simple chores for the sheer satisfaction of being on the property. Since then, I have graduated to working a tractor for 14 hours a day, 4-6 days in a row, once a year during haying. My uncle has around 300 head on about 1,800 acres. Sounds like a perfect resource, but knowing old ranchers like y'all do, he continuously just tells me that it is not something I want to do and to get over it.... I love the man to death, but he is wrong....

I am hoping that somebody on this forum can help point me in the right direction. My time in the military taught me hard work, dedication, selflessness, loyalty, and perseverance, all qualities I would bring to anybody willing to help me out. I live near Houston, have a wife and kids, so unfortunately I can not pack up and head out full time on a ranch somewhere and learn the trade properly. But, if there are any ranchers near Houston that would be wiling to show me a few things, I would be forever grateful. If not, a few words of advise are always appreciated. In return, I have hunted wild hogs professionally, and am quite skilled at predator control, so in return for advice or knowledge, I can help you with your coyotes and hogs, both of which can be more than a headache.... If this is the wrong spot on this forum for such a topic, or if it is against some sort of rule, I apologize. Thank you.