• If you are having problems logging in please use the Contact Us in the lower right hand corner of the forum page for assistance.

handling & feeding cake

Help Support Ranchers.net:

LCP

Reaction score
I've never used cake before as a protein supplement, but I'm looking into it this year. Turns out we have high selenium levels and I haven't found a commercial protein supplement around here whose mineral package does not include selenium. So I'm looking into having a custom mineral package put into cake. Have not got prices yet, waiting on our nutritionist to figure that part out.

I don't want to invest a bunch of money in feeding equipment, at least not this year until I see how things go. I'm wondering what the best way would be to store/handle/feed cake given my current resources: a couple of 1100 bu grain bins (not hopper bottoms), a couple of 300 bu barge boxes with hoists, '92 Toyota pickup, Ford f-250 with bale bed, and a scoop shovel :D

My initial thought was to bulk fill those barge boxes and then dump them into the Toyota when it's time to chore, but I'm not sure how well cake would flow out that hole in the back of the barge box or how easily the trap would shut when I want to close it. I'd guess the hole is 2 ft wide and 10-12 inches tall.

Feeding a pound a day, delivered every 3 days probably, to two bunches of about 225 cows each. So that's 675 lb per herd every trip. Figured I'd put the pickup in gear and ride in the back, scooping out cake as I go along.

What could I do to make it work better?

Teach wifey to operate the shovel.......... :D

We kind of did that last year with 5 lbs. of pellets every day for 600 cows. I was in pretty good shape for the shape I was in. Going with a pellet feeder that my son is building for us this year.