• If you are having problems logging in please use the Contact Us in the lower right hand corner of the forum page for assistance.

Interesting articles on cattle handling facilities

Help Support Ranchers.net:

RSL

Reaction score
will be watching this thread with great interest as i am re-vamping my so-called handling system. Lot's of info out there almost to the point of being confusing/conflicting.

Don't know how the old boy's ever worked cattle without tying up 10 thousand plus in a "handling system" according to some of these manufacturers. a lot more competent help available i guess.

I have been studying William's livestock handling for a couple of years now and have taken the Stockmanship Journal. After about 25 years with a solid sided curved alley way and tub I came to the conclusion that Grandin was a much better salesman than she is cattle handler. If you don't want to spend the time to learn how to handle cattle, by all means follow her advice and build your facilities full of curves and funnels and full sheeted alleys. If you want to take a little time to learn how to handle cattle you can significantly reduce the costs of handling equipment needed.