• If you are having problems logging in please use the Contact Us in the lower right hand corner of the forum page for assistance.

Questions about small round balers/electronic ear tags

Help Support Ranchers.net:

Blkbuckaroo

Reaction score
Would like to experiment with a small round baler next hay season,but no one in my area bales round.All square bales here.What kind of small used round baler can you folks recommend,for a starter baler,don't want to spend alot of this experiment.Also how would i roll them out for feeding off my truck,is there something i could fabricate? :???: A roller of some sort,i have no experience with this type of thing.Electronic ear tags?How do you read them on to your computer as you work cattle in the sqeeze?That is to say,is there a scanner attach to the computer? Thanks in advance folks.Oh also how much do those small round bales generally weigh?And what do the sell for?Any pics would be appreciated 8)

Here we don't really waste money on the steel hay feeders.

We'll ljust set a bale on the top of the hill.....cut the wrap or strings and give'er a nudge and let it unroll itself.

kolanuraven said:

We'll ljust set a bale on the top of the hill.....cut the wrap or strings and give'er a nudge and let it unroll itself.
Thanks Kola,sounds nice and easy,but what if there's no hill? :)

Blkbuckaroo said:
kolanuraven said:

Thanks Kola,sounds nice and easy,but what if there's no hill? :)

Hmmmm....never encountered that geographical challenge before!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I used to have a couple of Krone balers. For a 5x4 bale they made the nicest ones in the country. Pretty simple and not a real high power requirement .

i have used the front tire on the tractor to unroll them,set your bale down ,cut the strings and push it with the front tire on the tractor,if its good dry hay it works pretty good,the tire kinda grabs the hay

Big Muddy rancher said: