• If you are having problems logging in please use the Contact Us in the lower right hand corner of the forum page for assistance.

gov't $

Help Support Ranchers.net:

nd

Reaction score
Hello, I have been working a job in town and probably will have to for the next ten years or more. One thing I hate is sitting at the lunch room with about 200 different city people with no ag background. I hate when they talk about farmers "getting new pickups with their gov't checks" or anything about gov't subs. I am young and only into cattle, no grain farming but I, as a rancher am classified as a "farmer that receives government money" to these ignorant city folk. I, myself, haven't received and money from the gov't but I want to sound intelligent and a have a great comeback to these ignorant people and support my fellow ag communitity. I know if it wasn't for farmers and ranchers these people wouldn't be eating their roast beef sandwiches.

Tell them:

There is no such thing as a free lunch.

Ask them if they consider it their right to have a vacation every year and a new car every couple of years, and send their kids to college. They will tell you that they work for it, so they have earned it.

Then tell them that these things only happen because they aren't spending half their income on food, like people in other parts of the world. Their standard of living is based on a society that runs on cheap food.

Food so cheap that the people who produce it must live below the poverty level just so that they can have a lifestyle that allows them the freedom to have good things in life free from the worry of going to bed hungry.

So if the government chips in to keep the food supply secure and available, it's an investment in their futures and security. They have no right to complain, especially when they are going home from work to a supper table full of food and a roof over their heads.