• If you are having problems logging in please use the Contact Us in the lower right hand corner of the forum page for assistance.

Hello From Washington/Oregon (Vancouver/Portland Area)

Help Support Ranchers.net:

wannabe

Reaction score
I am pre-new to ranching, if everyone understand me. I have no background in farming, ranching whatsoever. I always like animals. Not the kind of animals lovers that become vegan, blinding oneself from the fact that animals have their parts in ecosystem and human life. I am up with culling, so maintain healthy animals, for working purpose and for food.

I am far from retirement age, but older than college age. Looking to get out of the city. I am looking for apprenticeship like to learns the ropes about leasing lands, animals husbandry, maintenance around the farm... Ideally I would like to move to Texas, as I feel in the long run, the West Coast woke culture ain't appreciating what ranchers' contribution.

So, I am happy to be here in this forum.

Thanks for the warm welcome.

I had joined since May last year, and have been spending time reading, and doing extra research on YouTube.

If it is my own farm, my preference would be meat goat farm, but I am open to learn from cow/cattle, sheep, chicken, pig ranchers...

By the way, I am still single (yet to marry), so I have the flexibility of moving out and starting. So my main question right now is how I can get my feet wet in, without being drowned.