• If you are having problems logging in please use the Contact Us in the lower right hand corner of the forum page for assistance.

Looking for Views

Help Support Ranchers.net:

m5farm

Reaction score
As most know I am a small farmer with commercial herd that up until Now 1 bull could handle. I Can AI and have been slowly progressing to that especially since the Angus bull I was running sired 60% Heifers during the 4 years I used him. I have Kept a few every year and have some Of his Granddaughters In the bunch now and those are the ones I have been AI'ing. Im culling some of the older cows As I have heifers that have first calf. I Just try and raise a quality calf that does well at the market or Private but I want good replacements to continue. I have a couple of friend that have Limo and I think that might be a good cross to introduce to my predominantly angus cows.

Limo is a good cross. We did that in the 80's. Trouble is....at that time the heifers weren't very fertile. If you could keep them
bred and in the herd til they were 4 years old, they lasted a long time. So we decided it didn't work for us, as like you, the bull calves are a by-product of breeding for replacement heifers/cows. Maybe now they have a fertile EPD for Limousin, at that time they didn't. If so, I'd really pay attention to that, or you won't like the results.

Remember that any double-muscled breed was originally bred for pulling or draft purposes. Not for milk or fertility. JMHO.

If I were you, I'd keep my herd straight black, or consider a Hereford bull to put on your black cattle. But you are diluting the heterosis after that first cross. (I'm sure there will be others here who disagree with that.)