• If you are having problems logging in please use the Contact Us in the lower right hand corner of the forum page for assistance.

Small town business ideas

Help Support Ranchers.net:

C-E

Reaction score
I thought this would be the perfect place to ask for business ideas because most of you live in or near a small town just like the one we live in.

My wife and I have decided to start our own business, we just don't know what it is yet. She has a bachelors degree in education and has taught in elementary schools. I have a degree in criminal justice and have worked in a prison and am now driving a truck. We are 28 and 26 years old and have a 2 yr old son and another baby on the way as we speak.

We have started putting money back for a business and I am trying to get a job with the local police department. I figure with that job I would be doing shift work and would usually be available for at least half a day to do business. And it would provide insurance and benifits.

We have no illusions of how great life would be being your own boss. We fully understand that being your own boss is much harder and more stressful than working for someone else.

We are just having a hard time thinking of a business idea that would work in a small community, that isn't already here.

The only idea that we have come up with so far would be a day care. NOT an in home day care. Although I do love kids I don't think I could be with thirty kids all day everyday.

Any ideas you might have would be greatly appreciated.

Since your town has a police department , maybe a doughnut shop. :wink: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I just couldn't pass on that one. My first thought was a daycare as well.
What industry do you have that might need services?

my wife and I started our own recently. our web site is

www.livinity.com/ehlers perfect part time deal to allow us time with the farm.