• If you are having problems logging in please use the Contact Us in the lower right hand corner of the forum page for assistance.

Solar water pump

Help Support Ranchers.net:

I have no experience with that company. Couldn't tell what kind of pump they use.

loranze and grudfos pumps been good. Dealer i got mine from, went to selling sunroter pumps. (I think that is different from sun pumps) If a very deep well, you want a heical roter pump, so that it will pump some when cloudy and pump is running slow. I would stay away from diaphragm pumps, unless you like pulling pumps to work on them.

my only experience has been with a loranze pump. Everybody needs at least one solar powered pump in every pasture that depends on windmills.

on a hot sunny day when the cows are real thirsty, a solar pump is pumping full speed. Cloudy day when cows not drinking as much, if sized right, it is still pumping.

Just make sure that you get a big enough system to pump the gallons a day you need. I have known of dealers to sell to small of system. Then the rancher isn't happy. If comparing prices, watch the total watts of solar panels they are quoting you. One local well driller that sells lots of systems, couldn't even tell me on the phone, how many watts the panels he was selling put out.
Would you buy a 5 horse power engine, if you needed a 100 hp engine? One cylinder or 8 cylinder don't tell much. Neither does 2 or 6 panels. You need to know watts, but more so, gallons per day expected from the depth of water level of your well.

I have personal experience from running a pump jack on a windmill that broke, where cow calf pairs were drinking 50 gallons a day over a 2 week period. They were drinking more than a thirty foot tank full every other day for 100 pair.