• If you are having problems logging in please use the Contact Us in the lower right hand corner of the forum page for assistance.

Thank you to veterans

Help Support Ranchers.net:

I am a veteran - I served three years at the end of the Korean Conflict period
and before the Vietnam war. In those days, all males who were healthy were subject to the draft
and most actually served.

I spent just over two years on the East German Frontier and eventually returned to civilian life no worse for the wear.
I went to college on the GI Bill and had a successful business career. I have never felt that I did anything special - just my
duty as an American.

Now, no one needs to serve unless they want to and that is OK. I have a son who is a retired Marine and a grandson who
is currently on active duty as a marine officer. They didn't have to serve, but did. I feel they deserve more thanks
than I do.

Those who served in Vietnam especially deserve our thanks because it was a hard fought war and they were treated
poorly when they returned. I feel they were truly the greatest generation.

Anyway, thanks to all who served honorable under honorable conditions.

CP

Adding my thanks to Veterans who gave years of their lives in service to our nation, I appreciate the variety, intensity, and danger of the various ways you have served!

Our immediate family has only a son-in-law as recent Veterans, and he serves again as a civilian employee on the base he retired from after 23 years' service. But among cousins I have/had several who served in various services, including in Vietnam and all that entails.
We also have several sons of that generation currently serving in various services, including Special Services or Forces (not being sure of the term). I don't know who they are, or where they are, and want to keep it that way for the safety of their families. We keep all servicemen and their families in our prayers both as families and members of a local church.