• If you are having problems logging in please use the Contact Us in the lower right hand corner of the forum page for assistance.

Docility

Help Support Ranchers.net:

wdcook

Reaction score
Seems as if I every so often I'm culling a cow or two that has a disposition problem. What percentage does everyone have that are considered problems?

In reading the recent Midwest Cattleman, Red Angus were touted for their good dispositions. What about breed differences. I have been using Black Angus for several yrs.

Any techniques you use other than hand feeding to improve disposition? Can't hand feed here because of the help.(me) I'm too old and week and have too many to care for.

this might sound silly but we purchased some pretty quick cows , I just walked through them after I was done feeding them , it didn't take long and they seemed to be not so flighty and its good for the old ticker :wink:

One thing is getting bulls/cows from a breeder known for quiet dispositions- and bulls with genetics for docility....

The AAA now has a Docility EPD which- while not perfect- lists many bulls in use- and with it a person can connect together some of the quieter genetics....I've found that with bulls like Lead On, Rito 6I6, In Focus, the Wye, DDA, etc. that they are pretty indicative of the cattle...

http://www.angus.org/Nce/Research/DocilitySires.aspx

But I don't think anything beats contact with the cattle....Herefords are know as one of the quieter breeds-- but I've saw Herefords that only saw a human a couple times a year that were wilder than antelope...

Oldtimer said:
One thing is getting bulls/cows from a breeder known for quiet dispositions- and bulls with genetics for docility....

The AAA now has a Docility EPD which- while not perfect- lists many bulls in use- and with it a person can connect together some of the quieter genetics....I've found that with bulls like Lead On, Rito 6I6, In Focus, the Wye, DDA, etc. that they are pretty indicative of the cattle...