• If you are having problems logging in please use the Contact Us in the lower right hand corner of the forum page for assistance.

Ranching in Kazakhstan

Help Support Ranchers.net:

Reaction score
Hey my name is Brock, Im 22 years old from Singhampton Ontario. Currently living and managing a 2400 head hereford cow calf operation north west of astana kazakhstan. Been here now for 3 months and still have another 9 to go in my contract. Im a cattle consultant and i am here evaluating and improving this farm for an overall increase in their calf crop.

My title is farm manager here although i am subcontracted and work for Wilson Consulting Group. Winters are bruatlly cold here and the winds are high. a lot worse then ontario or alberta canada which i have farmed and done lots of calving in both provinces. A friend showed me this site and told me i should tell some people about what i am doing over here and some of my stories from here, so feel free to ask, cause i love telling them. Ill keep adding to this thread weekly so all you folks can read about all the crazyness that goes on over here.

thanks for reading

can you post any pictures? What is the land base like and how do you handle grazing, turn out collect in fall, rotational or more intenzive grazing? Thanx for posting.

Yes i will post some pictures, where i am its flat, very flat, i havent seen pasture yet but from what iv gathered is we have 2 pastures, not sure size, they just want me to dump all the canadain heifers in one pasture and in the second one split kazak cows and american cows to each side. put bulls out same time. Its very difficult to get through to them and change their ways so im trying to explain a breeding season to them and try to keep it contained but its a struggle. We drag little shacks out there and 2 employeew stay there for 2 days then rotate. I cant give to many more details since i have yet to see my pastures myself.